top of page


Irena's service to the community has been recognized:

Co-Recipient: 2014 Jewish Family Service Calgary Anna Steinberg Outstanding Immigrant Award 

Co-Recipient: 2011 Jewish Family Service Calgary Rosslyn Steinberg Personal Initiative Award

Finalist: 2010 Calgary Stampede Western Legacy Awards (Innovation)

Recipient (Little Synagogue): City of Calgary 2010 Calgary Heritage Authority Lion Award (Advocacy & Awareness)

Recipient: 2010 Calgary Jewish Federation President’s Award

JFP Lion Award August 27 2010.png

Receiving the Lion Award at a ceremony held on July 28, 2010. Pictured (l. to r.) The Little Synagogue on the Prairie Project Society Board Members: Shel Bercovich, Betti Weiss, Shauna Switzer, Trudy Cowan, Emanuel Cohen, Irena Karshenbaum, Jack Switzer and Leslie Levant. Published in Jewish Free Press on August 27, 2010. Board Members not in picture: Daryl S. Fridhandler, Dr. Ralph Gurevitch and Bobby Libin.

bottom of page